I Released a Record

It has been a very long road, with lots of set backs and accomplishing this was much harder than I anticipated, but my debut album is out and I feel a strange mixture of pride, relief, exhaustion, exhilaration and dread about it.

The album is called “Another galaxy, Another planet, Another time” by Intergalactic Space Bears. Here is where you can listen to the record:

https://songwhip.com/intergalacticspacebears/another-galaxy-another-planet-another-time

Credit for the wonderful cover image belongs to my wonderful wife, Clare Topic, who has an amazing talent producing digital images like this one.

The whole record was made in the computer. Every synth was a software synth. The guitars were plugged into virtual amp simulators. All of the mixing and mastering was done “in the box”. I did everything (other than the cover art). I wrote the music, performed it, programmed it, recorded it, produced it, mixed it, mastered it and released it.

While I was doing the work of making the music, I also started a record label, called Confelicity Records. https://confelicityrecords.com/

Now that this music is out into the world, how it is received is none of my business. I hope people like it, but I am realistic enough to know that some people will dislike it, or worse, be totally indifferent to it, if they listen at all. That’s OK. I have much more new music to make.

The space bears, as the album title suggest, are from another galaxy, planet and time and they’re here to learn about this planet and time. I hope to further develop this story arc in future releases.

Anyway, if you’re so inclined, I do hope you listen to the record and enjoy it. It was inspired by Pink Floyd, Mike Oldfield and Jean Michel Jarre, so the music tends toward being calm, but also a little discomfiting. There are also lots of hidden Easter eggs and more obvious references to events, in the music itself.

I hope you like it.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I Released a Record

  1. I’m so happy and excited for you Michael! I’m about to do my makeup while listening to it. Gooo YOU!!

Leave a comment