Is Anybody Still Interested in Art?

Serious question: does anybody care if art disappears entirely from daily life? We all seem to assume that there will always be art and music available, on demand, in abundance, for free, but who is going to make that art and how?

It has now reached the point where there is so little funding or monetary support for artists, there are practically no opportunities to get good at making it. The art that gets made suffers from the fact that artists can’t afford to dedicate and devote the time to make it really good, unless they suicidally volunteer to starve and perish.

Even if the financial incentive for making art was argued to sully the purity of the artist’s motives (an argument that never seems to be applied to financial speculators), the practical necessities for making art still have to be paid for. Who willingly pays for that? Increasingly, society is saying, emphatically, that they don’t want to. They find every which way to take the art from artists, but give nothing back. It’s nothing less than abusive.

When we consistently abuse those that care enough to produce works that spread joy, eventually, despite the noblest of intentions, they just cannot go on making them. Cannot. And so, the net stock of joy, in the world, steadily declines. Existence becomes joyless. For everyone. 

That seems to be the kind of world our leaders and the general populace wants, if judged by the actions they (don’t) take to protect the steady flow of joy being brought into the world. Their every action is to deny it’s importance, to steal it, to denigrate the artists and to actively dismantle its support structures, in the interests of economic prudence, efficiency and savings.

Well made art is substantially disappearing. It’s happening under our very noses and nobody appears to care. If anybody cares, then the actions they take to stem the tide are largely ineffectual. The destroyers are getting a free ride, with widespread public support and encouragement. Artists are being mugged. What profits there are go elsewhere; not to the artists and producers.

It’s your world. If you want it filled with badly made art, or no art, with no new songs or records, keep doing what you’re doing. Keep voting for anti-art candidates and support businesses that industrialise the cannibalisation and pillage of the artist community. Behave abusively toward authors, musicians, painters and other creative, like you do today. Encourage them all into bullshit, bureaucratic, soul-destroying jobs like yours, out of jealousy and spite. Destroy your own means of escape from the torment and drudgery. Volunteer for your own emotional enslavement. Submit.

You’ll reap what you sow. Maybe what you want is a joyless, austere world, where all that matters is material wealth, but where there are no fine things to spend it on. That might be your comfort zone. Conservative, controlled and colourless. This is the world you’re creating, by how you’re behaving. Now. It’s your present reality.

You can have it.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Anybody Still Interested in Art?

  1. cp says:

    Art remains central to my life, although I am no longer a “working artist”; I look forward to my return when I retire. It grounds me. So, yes, it is still important. One life at a time.

    • Thank you for commenting. My view is that art actually is very important to humanity, but that we are all sleep-walking, mired in distraction, into a position where art itself is now under threat. I hope we wake up in time.

Leave a Reply

