Nobody Wants Your Shit

Tiny, typical houses are full to overflowing with consumer crap. They don’t want any more. There’s just no room. Whatever masterpiece you’ve created, it’s the wrong colour, anyway. It won’t match the décor, even if they have the wall space, inclination and patience to hang and frame it.

Every man Jack is making some kind of art, to varying standards of accomplishment. Nobody is as dedicated to buying it, though. That’s not a creative pursuit. It’s not seen as a means of expressing yourself. There’s no passion in it.

Your artistic folly is just playful silliness mixed with melancholy. Nobody wants to indulge your penchant for regret, at paths in life not taken. Everybody knows those paths were impossible and unrealistic. Your self-doubt would have crippled your progress along that path, anyway.

You think if you make art purpose-designed to please, then somebody will want it, but ironically, it’s your art’s very inauthenticity which makes it unpalatable and repulsive. You can’t please anyone, most of the time.

There’s no time to listen or to read and far more nostalgia value in replaying familiar favourites. Who needs the shock of the new? Who wants to waste time explaining why you won’t pay attention?

Nobody wants your shit.  

Even if you make it entertaining and viciously brief.

Even if you dumb it down.

Even if you compromise your artistic integrity to naked populism.

Even if you give it away.

Nobody wants your shit.

So, make it authentic, make it good and hope it touches somebody else, in some small way. Get some joy out of the making.

If acclaim is what you’re seeking, to fill the void inside, the truth is that the void is unfillable. You’ll have to fill that yawning, abyss with something more substantial – a sense that you deserve to be happy, just for being.

Don’t expect anybody to affirm that for you, though.

They won’t.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nobody Wants Your Shit

  1. Jason says:

    I couldn’t agree more and I also seriously value the unusual tone of this post. It’s a small break from your ‘less firm’ posts and reminds me of the no nonsense, adamant voice I use when pushing myself past some looping internal dialogue I allow myself to get stuck in sometimes. Ultimately all art is bullshit and a waste of time if it’s not authentic and, to some degree, autobiographical.

Leave a Reply

