A Bit of Light Amusement

Today, I came across an article that listed 29 free tools to improve my social media marketing.  Out of curiosity, I followed some of the links to some of the tools, to see how good they were.  One of the most hilarious tools I discovered was one that generated blog article titles based on three key words.

Here is the URL for the site:  http://www.hubspot.com/blog-topic-generator

Never one to resist a challenge, since this site was billed as a “blog topic generator”, I typed in the following three key words: “blog”, “topic” and “generator”.  (Yes, I am a fan of Dave Gorman).

This is what the site returned:

Blog Topic Generator

What made me laugh out loud was the suggestion at number 2.  “14 Popular Misconceptions About Topic”.  As “Topic” is my surname, I found myself contemplating writing an article containing 14 popular misconceptions about me!  How popular would I need to be to even have popular misconceptions about myself?  How would I even know what they were?  Another free tool site informed me that this blog is the 6,800,000 most popular website in the world, give or take a few tens of thousands of ranking places!  As popular as that?!

Rest assured that I intend to continue to think up blog topics and titles using my own brain.  These free, automated tools are never as useful as they promise to be.  It’s always a case of some Wizard of Oz figure (usually a programmer), anonymously hiding behind the curtain of a website, telling you he has the creative secrets you don’t possess.  He doesn’t.  There are no such magical secrets.  If I knew who he was, I’d tell him so to his face.

People like that have got to stop scamming the general public by creating “artificial intelligences” that are nothing of the sort.  It’s fraudulent and it distorts people’s perceptions about the very nature of computing.  When they claim to offer genuinely creative output, I get particularly riled.  If those tools ever do deliver something creative, they do it in error and by accident, not by design.

The suggestion at number 5 made me smile, too:  “Why We Love Topic (And You Should, Too!)”.  Perhaps that’s a blog post better written by somebody else, other than me.

Anyway, you can amuse yourself for literally seconds, or even minutes, entering three random nouns and seeing what the blog topic generator throws up.  I use the term “throws up” with a deliberate double meaning, since some of the titles suggested feel like they were literally vomited from the depths of some database, which, in fact, they undoubtedly were.

It’s unintentionally funny, which is always the funniest type of fun.

 

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

