Inspiring Educators

The best teachers are the ones that inspire you.  In order to be inspirational, a teacher needs to strive for success in the thing that they teach.  Students can readily tell the difference between a teacher that is going through the motions, delivering dry, sterile, rote information and one that is a vibrant, progressive practitioner of the art.  If a teacher is defeated and bitter and teaching only because it’s a plan B, having failed to become a success in their chosen field, that is obvious too.

When a teacher engages with their students and learns from them, as well as teaches them what they know, things tend to go well for pupils and master alike.  A teacher that is constantly learning and delivering the best, freshest information they have, as soon as they have it mastered, is the most motivating teacher to study under.  The opposite is the teacher that stopped learning about what they do, at graduation, who simply delivers the same information, at the same standard, making no progress in their art, ad infinitum.

Sadly, too many teachers really wanted to be something else and it shows.  Students, with an enthusiasm and curiosity about a particular field, deserve an educator whose enthusiasm and curiosity at least matches their own.  Ideally, their tutor should be more enthusiastic and curious about their field, benefiting from years of practice and experience in it.  Teaching is a calling, not a mere occupation.  The best teachers have always understood this.

If you are a teacher, are you doing enough to be excellent at the subject matter you teach?  If you are a student, are you learning from somebody that is?

 

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiring Educators

  1. KoPinoLove♥ says:

    I enjoy teaching!~^^

Leave a Reply

