There’s No Process for Brilliance

There is no algorithm, computer programme, process or method to guarantee brilliant results or plain, old-fashioned brilliance, full stop.  People like to think there is a sequence of steps that you can follow to obtain brilliant outcomes, but the strange thing is that even if a sequence of steps has worked once and produced brilliance, it probably won’t be repeatable.  You aren’t the person that first followed those steps or who came up with them in the first place.  What worked for them may not work at all for you.

Sure, processes can be helpful, so long as you are brilliant enough to know which rules to follow and which to break, which steps to skip and which steps to take.  It’s as much about taste and selection as it is about obedience and rigour.

All processes and especially digital systems that embody processes are really just a form of puppetry in disguise.  If the system or process designer wasn’t brilliant, then that’s what you’re stuck with.  Even if they were, it doesn’t follow that using their process will guarantee that the brilliance will rub off on you.

Being brilliant is something you have to figure out how to be, your own way.  Few (if any) are born brilliant.  Brilliance usually comes from dedication, application, insight, imagination, daring, irreverence, curiosity and love of what you do and who you do it for.  Brilliance is frequently hard-won.

So if you are brilliant, that’s great.  Brilliance is, I claim, a species of beauty.  It’s good to be brilliant and you should never be ashamed or feel embarrassed about your brilliance.  It’s something to be cherished, celebrated and to be grateful for.  It can be short lived and temporary, for a multitude of reasons, not all of which are entirely under your control, despite the quality and soundness of your choices, your motivation and hard work.

However, like beauty, brilliance is also often in the eye of the beholder.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s No Process for Brilliance

  1. Janet says:

    Beautiful. Sharing it..

Leave a Reply

