Aiding and Abetting?

The papers and media are full, today, of pictures of a well-known art collector with what appears to be his hands around the throat of a frightened, saddened, fearful looking celebrity chef; his wife.  As artists, ought you sell your work to a man willing to apparently use threats, menaces and violence against his spouse?  Would you wish your art to enrich a man with no qualms about committing such an offensive act on another person’s body, in broad daylight and in public?

I don’t think I’d want a man like that to own any artistic work I created or to speculate on its value.  Not for me.  I don’t think I would find comfort in tacitly supporting somebody, through the application of my imagination, experience, learning, skill and hard work, if their behaviour fell this short of acceptability.  I wouldn’t want to be an accessory, however remote and minor my role.  How do you, as an artist, feel about this?

Not that there was ever any chance of my selling anything to this chap, but I think those artists that are in that league should consider if they want to continue buoying up this man’s speculative art dealing activities and enlarging his art collection.  Let him find another way to get rich.

I don’t think this is the reason most artists work hard to make their art.  At least I hope so.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

