Too Much to Say

Ever have this problem?  You go away for a couple of days where you are free from obligations (there’s a whole blog post on that subject one could write – obligations often get in the way of your art) and your mind positively fills with wonderful, intricate theories, many of which you want to blog about, but because they are such big and intricate topics and you are partially out of your depth on some of them, you feel unable to write the posts?  Most of the time, it’s hard to think of something new and interesting to blog about, especially if you constrain your writings by a theme (such as the posts having to be somehow about creative ideas for starving artists).  I don’t have that problem, at present.  I have too much to say.  In fact, I still have a sizable backlog of ideas for posts to work through, though I have to confess I usually bypass those and write about whatever happens to be on my mind at the moment.

Of course, the issue is getting enough time to assemble the bigger posts into something readable and then cutting those down, through judicious editing, into something that people will actually read through without falling asleep.  I also have some research to do and that takes time.  The problem with these bigger subjects is that I tend to half write them and shelve them indefinitely.  I have one about the relationship between creativity and the inherited brain structures we all have.  That’s about a year old and it touches on some controversial areas, so it has been difficult to complete.  I have one about the interplay between those people that make things and other types of people.  I also have one about thyroid function and creativity.  There’s also a commentary I want to add to a post I saw recently that argued why the idea of having a regular 9-5 job is becoming less of a good idea.  I’ve got one on the enduring, endearing qualities of Prog Rock.  Will I ever get them written?  Who can say?

I know the answer is to keep writing them, a paragraph at a time and I might still do that (Scrivener makes that much easier to do), but for me, sustaining the interest and passion in the subject requires that I get the whole thing down more quickly, in a single sitting, ideally, so that I maintain the same tone and energy throughout the piece.  I guess that dooms me to writing 1500 word, bite-sized ditties, doesn’t it?

Right now, I have several large projects to think about.  One is a large work project, one is a project with a friend that could be very cool, and the other is musical in nature.  That’s the biggies.  The small projects are all about household maintenance, keeping the car on the road, furniture and making sure the kids are getting the best education we can get them.  I also have some wild, speculative software application ideas and some very practical guitar and amplification ideas, but finding the time to get them done, even in prototype form, is increasingly hard.

I’ve also got a couple of books in draft outline form and loads of research notes for those.  I really should work harder on getting those together.  I need to find about 150 hours for each one.  Not impossible, but surprisingly elusive.

Then there are the guitar lessons.  I have encountered a wonderful learning resource and have some lessons to go through that will teach me new things about playing guitar.  If you’re interested, TrueFire.com is the site.  I love learning new things about playing guitar.  I’ve played the instrument for over forty years and I still find new things to get excited about learning on it.

I really must catalogue my paintings and get them photographed, too, so that I can begin to think about making them available for sale in various formats.  There are a lot of paintings, now, and I think I will struggle to remember when each was made and in which order.  I just got so enthused with the making of these paintings that cataloguing them fell by the wayside.  Getting them out there is becoming imperative, though.  No good hiding them away.

Meanwhile, there is the tantalising prospect of bringing a new sort of acrylic paint, which I use myself, to the UK and European market.  I’m seriously considering that one.  I’d also like to dabble with an innovative, new kind of oil paint that lets you paint “fat-on-lean” or “lean-on-fat” – whatever you want to do.  You can’t do that with traditional oil paint.  I also have a Van Gogh inspired technique to try.  If that goes well, I’ll definitely blog about it, but I’ll be doing it in oils, I think, rather than my usual acrylics.  That means it might take a while, because I don’t paint with oils as often as I do with acrylics.  They take so long to dry and this technique more so, because it’s all about the impasto effects.  The experiment could also be a colossal failure, but I’ll blog about it anyway, even if it is.

Hopefully, in a few days’ time things will be back into something resembling a routine and I can begin to make headway against all of the things I am interested in achieving.  If only life were not so short.

More soon, dear readers.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

