Inchoate

Adjective:  Just begun and so not fully formed or developed; rudimentary.

It has been one of those weeks.  Normally, I like to approach my blog postings with a reasonably fully formed idea, inspired by a significant event during the week.  Not this week.  This week has been one of incoherent signals from different places.  I’ve joined up with a bunch of like minded people to get some serious traction on music production between now and Christmas.  It’s a coaching course called “Start Now, Finish Fast”.  I have high hopes for the results that it will bring, but at the moment it feels like we’re all in the starting blocks, waiting for the starter’s gun to fire.  I have some homework to do, in preparation for the course, so I should get on with that.

I’m also halfway through an oil painting of two young musicians (there are two more sessions with the models).  The experiment, for me, this time, is to start off by painting incoherent, fuzzy, out of focus shapes of colour and bringing the significant parts of the painting into focus, the way that Rolf Harris does.  It will be interesting to see how that goes.  I haven’t completed the other two portraits I was painting in tandem.  I’m doing the facial features next and I want to be in a groove to do that, rather than force through it.  That’s an indulgence, but there you go.  It’s my decision.

I managed to get a little studio maintenance done.  I installed a new firewire audio interface with virtual room monitoring features, so that I can listen to my mixes in different simulated monitoring environments.  While I was at it, I updated several other tools that were behind the current revision level, including Cubase.  Updating Cubase always scares me.  The firewire audio interface came with some free stuff.  There was a new soft synthesizer (Novation Bass Station) and some free samples from Loopmasters (I now have over half a million .WAV files on my computer now, apparently, according to my Sample Librarian programme).  All of that hardware and software maintenance chews up creative time, mostly because of the elaborate and baroque activation and licensing hoops you have to jump through, but you have to do it.

I embarked on a little slide guitar odyssey this week, as well.  I have played slide before, but I started reading some books I had on the subject.  More fun to be enjoyed on that front, yet.  No jam session for two weeks, so maybe I can re-purpose some of that time to get further down the road learning this technique.  I also have a brand new electric ukulele, so I am trying to learn a few chords on that instrument as well.  It makes me smile, when I play that thing.

The song writing seems to have taken a back seat this week, so I’m keen to get back into that and looking forward to reading a few more chapters of some useful books I have on the subject, while I am at it.  Last weekend I was powering ahead with a work inspired by a speech by Harold Pinter, but that effort remains unfinished.  At least I have it sketched out.

I have a need to spend a little more time on yard work and home maintenance, so that’s going to take a little time out of creativity too, but I find that having all of that stuff in good order actually prevents it from playing on your mind and interfering with your creativity anyway.  Who needs the guilt?

There are a number of interesting projects that I have tried to help with, that are being lead by other people.  One is stalled on finding the finance and I guess the other one might be too, but it would be nice to make a small creative contribution to both.  Another interesting project I spent some time writing up what I could do for seems to have gone quiet as well.  Maybe they didn’t agree with my approach.  You just never know.  However, my approach is my approach.

Working life has been intense.  We have had visitors from head office and many new opportunities to evaluate, under time pressure.  Again, there is lots of stuff that might happen in the future, so it all seems quite inchoate.  Head office loves innovation, but our branch office traditionally hasn’t done much.  It will be interesting to see how that evolves.

My kids have both spent a part of their week drawing.  One has an art homework assignment on making marks and representing leaves with those marks.  The other received some new art paper and pencils, so is busy drawing just for the sheer fun of it.  I’m hoping my wife can start a course to further develop her poetry, which is already excellent – and I mean “world class excellent”, but it would do her good to have some more concrete goals, encouragement and like minds of a similar standard to interact with, I think.  I hope she pursues it.

So I close out the week with a mass of chaotic confusion.  Plenty of potential, plenty of things just started, plenty of things to finish, plenty of new directions, but no clear view of what is going to happen or where it all might lead.  Sometimes, that’s stimulating, but too much and it becomes a draining feeling, discharging all of your energy for what seems to be an uncertain return.  Right now, I feel pooped.  Hopefully I can find some renewed energy to press on with these things.  At the moment, though, I’m resting and writing.  Wait, that’s not really resting, is it?

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

