Things to Do Before You Are Run Over By a Bus

On twitter today, a nice lady posted that she had bought a lovely dress in the sales “for best”, but had decided to wear it today instead, because “you never know when you might be run over by a bus”.  She then asked what other things people thought she should do before she is run over by a bus.

Questions like that intrigue me and get my imagination working.  Here is my list of suggestions, written from the top of my head, in about ten minutes (so don’t take it too seriously):

  1. Tell everybody you love that you love them
  2. That one secret project you never get around to – map it out
  3. If you have never danced naked in the rain, dance naked in the rain
  4. Be grateful for every wonderful thing that ever happened to you, for every ordinarily, beautiful day and for the bad things that taught you
  5. Make peace with yourself.  You’re better and more special than anybody gave you credit for. Especially yourself.
  6. Let everyone know that if you hurt them, you’re sorry
  7. Be aware of the positive differences your presence has made
  8. Don’t worry about the things you never got done.  Your kids will probably do them one day, in your memory.
  9. Remember to smile
  10. Wear clean underwear. You wouldn’t want to be run over by a bus wearing soiled underwear.

What would your list include?

Oh and 11)  Don’t forget to turn off the gas and turn out the lights.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Things to Do Before You Are Run Over By a Bus

  1. showard76 says:

    Cool list! love it, lol

    I would add eat that chocolate bar because you won’t have time to put weight on because of it! hehe

  2. That’s a very good addition to the list! 🙂

  3. I’m not going to worry the clean underwear, cuz seriously.. would it matter after being hit by a bus?
    But otherwise,
    hmm.. I might do something crazy with my hair,
    All of the items you mentioned are worthy!
    My friend with me right now says she would moon someone,
    I’d go out in the night and write great big wild and wonderful empowering and thought provoking chalk messages on buildings and sidewalks and not worry about being nailed by our by-law for not following proper application processes to produce public art.

  4. Ps. part of our theme for the Muse A-Fair event (Kamloops Dec 2/3) is “If not now, when?” I’ll tell you more about how fitting this is to your post, but can’t yet reveal the surprises publicly!

  5. Some good things in the comments. Keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

