How to Make an Artist’s Day

I know a young singer-song writer on Twitter.  I say know.  The truth is I occasionally exchange tweets with her, but she is always a joy to converse with.  As a singer-songwriter, she is very good.  I mean exceptional.  I think she has a rare talent and gift and she is doing the right thing in patiently developing that talent; progressively and step by step.  Her latest songs are simply great.  Even her demo tapes sound great.

Take a listen on MySpace:  http://www.myspace.com/mollymcqueen

Her newest song, “Red Handed”, is especially good, in my opinion.

Molly is in her early twenties and the daughter of a rock star and a television presenter / model, so she has good role models for her passion and career choice.  Like most artists at the beginning of their careers, she has to take other work to make ends meet.  How ironic that she has to do things that are not core to her soul, so that she can fund the furtherance of a career in what she actually is at heart and does best.  In those non-core situations, some employers even unfairly complain about her individuality – something that, as an artist, is a strength, not a weakness!  That’s the world, for you.  Twisted.  She is a musician through and through.  In fact, she is a musician’s musician.

Unlike some rock star children, it hasn’t all been handed to her on a silver platter.  Molly’s artistic work has been the result of sheer hard work and application and her art is all the better for it.  It would have been ever so easy to ride on the coat tails and reputations of her illustrious parents, but that is not what she has done at all.  She’s taken the route of the serious artist and found her own way, by and large.

Life as a young artist trying to establish herself, particularly after some disappointments, is a pretty daunting path.  It must very occasionally get to you.  You must, at some point, have all the usual crises of confidence and self doubts.  I’m sure it can all feel very discouraging.

This morning, I awoke to this:  http://www.facebook.com/groups/254374627947044/  One of Molly’s fans had taken the time and trouble to organize a few mates and put up a group page on facebook to sing Molly’s praises.  What a delightful thing!  I know she appreciated it.  I’m equally sure she smiled at seeing forty four “likes” in fifteen minutes.  It’s moments like these that are the fuel an artist needs, especially if the spirit is flagging and life is getting in the way of art.

It got me to thinking how easy it would be to rally a few mates around and put up group pages on facebook, to sing the individual praises of artists we know.  It costs next to nothing and it might make their day.  It might also help them carry on creating.  I’d be delighted to see more pages like this, wouldn’t you?

Naturally, you don’t have to if you don’t want to, but if you want to, you have to!  That’s all there is to it.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

