Two Tragedies

I spent some time listening to some songwriters on the iPlayer this morning.  One of the song writers is a song writing role model of mine, of sorts.  One of the others I had never heard of, the other I knew but hadn’t heard about in decades.  What beautiful music!  What soul-wrenching, heart-aching poetry and delicate acoustic tones!  It soared.  It inspired.

I think there are two terrible tragedies that can befall an artist, especially a musician.  The first is to work tirelessly for years, but never find a large audience.  For those artists, at least there is the consolation of the work itself.  Nobody appreciates it, but at least they do themselves.  The second tragedy is either to never make their music at all, or to make it for a while, but abandon it for some reason.  We are all the poorer when music that could have been made, which could have consoled or uplifted us, isn’t made at all.  There is a gaping hole where the love and longing could have been.  A nothingness where there could have been inclusion, warmth and outreach.

I think making music is a semi-heroic act.  I’m sure most musicians don’t see it that way.  It’s just what they do.  But to those that appreciate music, who need it to live, these acts of musical creation are like nourishment.  They’re like a drink in the desert.  It takes a great deal of courage, vulnerability and honesty to write songs and the song writers are always open to criticism, or worse, being ignored entirely.  Hats off to those that make a life of it.  Heaven knows it doesn’t always pay very well and only a very small minority ever make a handsome living from it.  I’m sure they don’t do it for the money.

So here’s to the song writers.  Keep writing.  Keep composing.  Keep producing and recording.  If you aren’t currently writing, but could be, please do.  Please do it for all of us.  Do it for humanity.  Soothe our troubles.  Enliven us.  Give us hope.  Leave us an escape route into sonic fantasy, when it all gets to be too much.  Your work is important.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two Tragedies

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    I’ve been finding your posts speak direct to me, to whatever in me is restless and wants to go forward in creating — but all too often doesn’t.
    My post today bears exactly on yours: the obstacles that block the efforts. I thought you might enjoy a parallel reflection: http://touch2touch.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/portrait-of-achan-unfinished/
    Thanks for your time and effort on your blog; keep it coming!

  2. “But to those that appreciate music, who need it to live, these acts of musical creation are like nourishment.” Too true! Music can change a moment, an event, an entire day for the better. I can’t imagine my life without it. Well said!

  3. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    Music is magic. A great post. I think song writers are really “something else” with the pen. There’s some magnificent lyrics out there. Makes me want to hear some music now, because I know it would change my day…

    • I’m glad you agree. Sometimes the smallest things in life are the most important to us and because they’re small, we forget to appreciate the makers. I don’t think I could go a day without music. Thank you for commenting.

Leave a Reply

