Contribution Is The New Consumption

Ever noticed how difficult it is to stick to your plan, as soon as you get onto the Internet.  There are so many diversions and distractions, that it’s all too easy to become a simple media consumer, even though you are clicking around.  The difference between television and the computer, when you reach this stage, is that the mouse is the remote.  In all other ways, however, you are falling into couch potato mode.

The new direction is to create, when you get on-line.  Make a contribution.  Say something.  Write something.  Make a video.  Write some code.  Upload some of your own original music.  That’s a better entertainment, in the long run, because there is more of your mind and soul engaged in the activity.

Of course, if everybody was an author and nobody was a reader, that would be pointless too, but the age of the mass audience must be nearing an end.  What will be more prevalent in the future, in my opinion, is on-line collaboration, where you both consume and contribute.  Maybe, in the future, such collaboration will be remunerative too.  Until that day, brush up those creative skills.  Post a video.  Upload a picture of your latest painting.  Make a digital image.

Contribution is the new consumption!

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Contribution Is The New Consumption

  1. Harnew says:

    The internet is a major distraction. I spend too much time on WordPress. While I appreciate subscribers I only care for those who actually comment on the letters. So, I don’t know if you subscribed just because I liked your post and didn’t bother reading any of the letters. For instance, I liked your post and I liked this one but I didn’t subscribe or plan to unless I actually like your blog and want to be a part of it. So please reconsider your subscription if you don’t plan being active.

    • I read one of your posts and the About page. I found the idea of writing letters from the future back to your present self and intriguing one, but also confess I haven’t made the time, as yet, to fully understand your point of view and agenda. However, I read blogs that I subscribe to regularly. So, while I might not have read all of your existing posts, I almost certainly will be reading your future letters. If that qualifies me as a subscriber, then great. As for your subscription to my blog, that’s entirely up to you. I make no demands of my readers other than an interest in my subject matter.

Leave a Reply

