Less is More

When I am painting and there is too much white on the canvas, I do not add more white.

When using watercolours and I discover I have flooded the paper with too much water, I do not add more water.

If I am making errors in draftsmanship because I am rushing and not observing well enough, I do not draw faster and observe less.

When I am creating a new track and there is too much bass, I do not turn up the bass.

When writing a story and it is too long, I do not write more words.

If the software I am working on lacks structure, I do not further confuse the structure.

If my electronic components are overheating because the voltage is too high, I do not raise the voltage.

In all cases, I do the opposite.  I turn it down.  I do less.  I take words out.  I take paint or water off the ground.  I go slower.  I try to simplify, not complicate.  Negative feedback works.

Why, then, do people conclude that when their society has become too violent, the solution is to add more violence?

Get another gun, punish the perpetrators, lock them away and throw away the key, make their lives even more miserable, use rubber bullets, fire water canon, bomb the population, invade the country, fire a taser at them, use more force, injure more children.

Every artist knows that when you have too much, less is more.  I wonder why most people don’t pay attention to that?

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Less is More

  1. Not society has become more violent, but those who profits from a deregulated market and class division profits even from the violence created by their own cynical violence.
    The more chaos exist, the more they can legitimate to control every citizen for their purposes.

  2. You make yet another good argument for less chaos and violence 🙂 Thank you for your comments. It’s always a pleasure to receive them.

Leave a Reply

