50 Things That Are Right about Me

Indulge me.  I was inspired to try this out, based on a great blog by a great life coach that I read this morning.  Here’s a link to that inspiring post:

http://musingalong.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/there-is-nothing-wrong-with-you-nothing-isnt-that-a-relief/

This is my experiment, but I’m doing it live, without a net.  It might sound supremely egotistical to share this on a blog, but my purpose is to 1) give myself a reason to complete the exercise (although there are lots of good reasons to do it other than getting a new blog post out of it) and 2) to encourage other people to have a go at this experiment.

I also think that this is a hard list to write, because it demands quite a lot of self-analysis, honesty and courage, so making sure I do this with an audience, per se, makes it impossible for me to shrink from it, fudge my answers or quit half way.  I am encouraging myself to get it done by making a public performance of it.  I don’t know if that’s a good thing to do or a bad thing, but it works for me.  That will do as a justification.

Some preamble:  We all spend a lot of time worrying about what’s wrong with us.  This can sap all our energy and motivation.  Surprisingly, we don’t spend enough time considering what’s right with us.  Often, when you think about what’s right about yourself, you suddenly understand that the things you aren’t doing and which don’t meet your own unrealistic expectations are actually the result of a choice.  Often, that choice is so darned right and so darned positive, that you’ll wonder why you ever beat yourself up about the things that you imagine are wrong with you.

Here’s my list:

  1. I’m imaginative
  2. I’m inventive
  3. I’m creative
  4. I have good intuition
  5. I create things well (to a high quality)
  6. I am dextrous and quite good with my hands
  7. I can make surprising connections between seemingly unconnected things
  8. I have the courage to experiment
  9. I am very musical and have good musical taste
  10. I’m a pretty good guitar player
  11. I know how to design and build a guitar from scratch and have done so
  12. I’m a good electronic designer and can construct electronic things (and have done so)
  13. I know how to write software, but don’t enjoy the fine-grained, slow progress nature of it
  14. I am a pretty good dad who has two excellent kids
  15. I have a particular knack with debugging hardware and software.  I can fix all sorts of things.
  16. I’m kind (most of the time)
  17. I’m intelligent but I try to wear that lightly
  18. For a working class boy from the Styx, I’m relatively cultured
  19. I know a lot about colour theory and how to use it
  20. I have some good painting techniques
  21. I know how to write a song, produce a record and know my way around the recording studio
  22. I frequently have genuinely interesting and original ideas
  23. I am relatively well read
  24. I can see things clearly when others see only confusion
  25. I am both scientific and artistic, in equal measure
  26. I can be very logical, but also very whimsical
  27. I am loved and love well (I hope)
  28. I have some fantastic, amazing friends
  29. I know how to fix my own car, but rarely have the gear and the space to do it
  30. I care
  31. I think we can do better, as a human species and know some ways in which we can make a practical difference to that
  32. I write well and have been known to write prodigiously
  33. I am able to create even when there is noise, interruptions and chaos
  34. I write extremely hard hitting, insightful and emotionally affecting lyrics
  35. I’m good with synthesisers and samplers
  36. I have a pretty wide knowledge of sounds, samples and sound design
  37. I am adept with acrylic paints and oils, as a medium
  38. I’m provident
  39. I’m mostly reliable and often get things done
  40. I don’t stand on ceremony
  41. I mix well, even though I find it hard to be amongst strangers
  42. I know how to start a high tech business and how to be an entrepreneur
  43. I know how to write a decent patent application
  44. I know lots of things you should never do in business and in software development
  45. I have a way to change the world, but need to write it down
  46. I have a good sense of humour
  47. I inspire people and have inspired some people to do amazing things
  48. I am often inspired
  49. I like to encourage people
  50. I sometimes say and do enlightening things

Now that I have shown you my list, what are 50 things that are right about you?

 

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 50 Things That Are Right about Me

  1. Janet says:

    I think perhaps you are one of the most diversely gifted people I know… delighted to see it written here. Yes, you do inspire others.. and this post is one way. Brave – (add brave to your list?) for posting this in a world that still doesn’t support people in consciously acknowledging their strengths… let alone publicly. I’ll go do my list publicly now.

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. I don’t see it as brave, just as exposing my vulnerability, which as Brene Brown keeps telling everyone that will listen, is what makes us human and what makes us interesting. I trust that the post will be taken in the spirit in which it was written and if people don’t see it that way, it’s not my problem, it’s theirs 🙂

      Thank you once again for the encouragement and acknowledgement.

  2. Janet says:

    Actually I doubt anyone would see this post in any negative way – it’s definately written in a way that has the potential to open doors to knowing how empowering it is to be acknowledging our strengths.
    Okay.. you’ve inspired three powerful concepts with all of this:
    1. the acknowledging strengths
    2. power of exposing vulnerability
    3. we are not responsible for how other people see things.
    NICE!

  3. Coreena says:

    This is a great list. Thank you so much for sharing. I totally agree with Janet, this does help to inspire people.

Leave a Reply

