Out of Date, Out of Time

This tweet appeared on my Twitter account today (unwanted, I might add – I do not follow this individual).

I hope you can savour the barbarism and arrogance in this comment, as much as I did.  George Benson, as most cultured people know, is one of the finest jazz guitarists and musicians on the planet – a man with more talent and taste in his plectrum than the overpaid, cultureless Lord has in his entire empire.

While the artists starve, people like this rule the world (or believe they do).  They amass wealth.  They hold making money and entrepreneurship as the highest calling, duty and virtue.  These people are anachronisms.

People I know who watch “The Apprentice” do it because they see it as a form of farcical comedy, with stupid, young, acolyte, wannabe, entrepreneurs, full of their own self-importance, aping the mannerisms and cultural vacuum of their hero.  They laugh at the inept contestants.  They laugh at his creepy, sinister, sycophantic henchmen and women.  They laugh at the Lord, who with his famous “you’re fired” catchphrase, has come to embody all that is stupid and ignorant.  Hubris oozes out of every pore.  This is a man that began life as a mediocre typewriter repairman.  His technical innovations amount to some pretty non-standard, garbage computers, a set top box that didn’t work reliably and lots of failed inventions.  This emperor has no clothes.  The whole reality TV spectacle would be funny, if you could find a way to ignore the reality of this serious imbalance, in our world.  I can’t stand the show.

But Lord Sugar thinks he is smarter than all of us.  He is always one step ahead, in his plans to dominate and cheat some other trusting schmuck out of his cash.  He thinks of himself as somehow apart from us.  Somehow better.  He doesn’t see that we are all connected.  He is pretty pleased with himself, the old Lord.  So much so that he has the temerity to imply that mere musicians are nobodies and a waste of his precious money-making time.

Greed has failed.  Greed did not deliver.  Greed made a few self-appointed, self-important spivs into pastiche television tycoons, but it did diddly squat for the rest of us.  This is a new age.  What matters today is not what you can get, it’s what you can give.  To get, you always needed to give, but today collaboration, generosity, kindness, mercy and support of one another is the only viable solution to future life on earth.  The other way, the eighties way, is a sterile dead-end leading to ultimate oblivion.  That game has already played itself out.  There is no next round.  The Zeitgeist has moved on.  Lord Sugar is so eighties, he might as well be woolly leg warmers, shoulder pads or big hair.

It is my hope that the so-called thrusting entrepreneurs of the world begin to be valued appropriately and that the talented, the original, the imaginative and the loving are paid fairly for their worth.  I think it’s going to happen.  When it does, people like the Lord in this tweet will go begging.  The putting down of artists and the concerted effort to assert economic superiority over them is a sham, thinly disguised by bluster.  The tweet is just a clear example of the mind set.  It’s a bogus assertion, this entrepreneurial air of superiority.  It’s not based on anything worthwhile.

My advice to this Lord would be to go to see George Benson, absorb a tiny bit of culture and think about his real place in the universe, next to people that can do what George Benson can do.  Heaven knows he could use some culture and some realistic perspective about his own talents, abilities and value to human-kind.

If he believes he needs a George Benson evening like a hole in the head, then I would say many more holes are actually required, aren’t they?  This man needs George Benson, music and civilization very badly indeed.

P.S.  For anybody curious, Annabel was in disbelief at the ingratitude and closed mindedness of the tweet too.  Annabel has excellent values and her feet on the ground.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

