Learning to Fly Again

My wife reminded me, this morning, of a time when our daughter was about 3 or 4 years old.  She had been given a pair of fairy wings, made from a wire frame and covered with pink, translucent gauze.  They were really pretty.  She looked utterly adorable with them on.  One sunny day, soon after receiving them, she put them on and bounded happily outside to play.

Some time later she came back inside, the disappointment written all over her face.  “These don’t work”, she said.  “They must need a switch”.

Can you remember a time when you honestly and sincerely believed you could fly?  If not literally, do you remember believing you could fly metaphorically – to be able to take on the whole, wide world and somehow succeed, in spite of the odds against?  How many times have harsh realities brought you back to ground and made you doubt your own abilities to even hop, skip and jump, let alone fly?

I remember that feeling of unlimited possibilities well.  It made me feel wonderful, to think that I could achieve something extraordinary.  I liked that feeling.  I like to relive it.  In fact, if I could live my life feeling that way, every single day, I would really enjoy it.  The things that stop me are the realities that encroach on those lovely daydreams.  It takes a leap of mental discipline to maintain that feeling, when so much around you so obviously wants to nail your feet permanently to the floor.

Fortunately, in our imaginations we can soar.  We can fly.  Our minds permit that.  Our imaginations are also where we create our own future realities.  Sure, those imaginary futures are often times tempered by harsh reality, but every now and then, something you imagine, as a future, turns out to be possible.  In bringing the idea to life, you create something truly magical and unexpected.  Your idea can astonish others, because of its sheer audacity and novelty.  In some small sense, you learn to fly again, just like you thought you could when you were a child.

Creativity and imagination are the salvation of the earth-bound.  No matter how challenging your current reality happens to be, try to find a way to learn to fly again.  Your mind has wings.

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to Fly Again

  1. I guess that sharing my experience with levitation (a little side effect sometimes of an energy rush !) might increase my lunatic image, but…only that much…not only birds, insects , air planes and dishes can challenge gravitation!
    My parents loved aviation and practised it, that might have inspire, as much as their agreement, that thinking outside the frame was a good exercise.
    I have the feeling that the ability to fly freely in the own head is connected with a secure feeling to be well grounded on earth.

Leave a Reply

