Curiosity

Curiosity might have killed the cat, but it drives all human progress, including your creativity.  In fact, my cat’s singular lack of curiosity is actually what’s holding him back.  If he had any curiosity at all about learning to say a few words in English, he would be far more articulate when expressing his needs and his life would be materially improved.

Curiosity owes its word origins to the word cura, which means “to care”.  The essence of all curiosity is some kind of “giving a damn” about what’s going on with the object of your curiosity.

When I was a child, there was a series of inexpensive books called “How and Why Wonder Books”.  http://www.rocketroberts.com/how_and_why/how_and_why.htm These books were available on a myriad subjects and they appealed to my innate sense of wanting to know everything about how the world works.  I devoured these things.

When I became an adult, I found that if I applied that same insatiable thirst for knowledge and my out-of-control curiosity to learn anything and everything about something, I became knowledgeable and skilled in that thing much faster.

When I started to learn to paint, for example, I read everything I could on how to paint, about brushes and paints, pigments, colour theory, techniques of great artists, magazines about painting, books, on-line blogs and so on.  I went to classes.  I went to museums and art galleries.  I watched artists demonstrating their technique on TV.  I stood very close to masterpieces in the National Gallery to try to reverse engineer the great Masters’ colour mixing techniques and brush strokes.  I immersed myself in the subject of painting.  I dived in totally.  To me, this is a form of fun.

If you want to kick start your own curiosity, besides starting with Google (duh!) you could try this fun little aggregation gadget:  http://addictomatic.com/ Type in the subject you are interested in and let the robot do the work.

I think that you should rely on your curiosity to drive you forward in life.  Be interested in stuff.  When you are interested in something, rip it up – look into every corner of it.  Become an adept in the “sacred” knowledge pertaining to it.  Listen to shared wisdom about it.  Completely immerse yourself in the torrents of information available.  Get soaked.

Look.  Listen.  Learn.  Love.

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Curiosity

  1. Artswebshow says:

    Definately something to think about.
    And you’re so right about curiosity

Leave a Reply

