Creative Destruction

Creative Destruction was a phase coined by economists to describe the process by which radical new innovations sweep away companies that had built value, adhering to the old ideas.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creative_destruction

It seems to me that this phrase has been hijacked and misapplied to all manner of fields.

For example, when is creative destruction just a term used to disguise plain old destruction?  The world seems to be full of people in power with highly destructive tendencies and agendas, who nevertheless justify their actions to themselves and to others by hiding behind the rubric of creative destruction.

Some creative acts do involve destruction, but the key to this is that the net effect is creative.  If the balance goes the other way, it’s not creative destruction.  It’s just destruction.

I am all for preserving some things from the past.  The old timers were not entirely stupid.  I am also a huge fan of innovation and radical innovation at that, but only where it creates a benefit to mankind and the environment.  Developing a radically innovative form of synthetic life, which is in reality a sexually transmitted disease which causes infertility and which is resistant to antibiotics, is not creative in any way.

All things considered, my preference is for creativity, without the destruction, if possible.  It’s a false dichotomy to always believe that something must necessarily be destroyed before something else can be created.  And even when some destruction is inevitable and even necessary, in order to allow something more beneficial to exist, the consequent casualties of the destruction cannot and should not be left to bleed.  That’s just inhumanity.  A failure to take care of those that suffer loss because of creative destruction is a huge failure of creativity.

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

