Ceding Ground

Sometimes it feels like the passing of the years is sort of like ceding ground.  You start your life relatively healthy and with dreams and ambitions, but as life’s obligations impress upon you and your environment and food supply slowly damage you, you cede ground.  You get less and less time to follow your dreams.  You spend more of your time battling to keep food on the table and a roof over your head.  Your health, by degrees, gradually decays.

My advice to everyone is to hold your ground.  Take care of your health.  Learn what is causing people to become ill and avoid it (that would be heavy metal contaminants from industry and electricity generation, profiteering farming practices, carcinogens all over the place, toxins like fluoride in your water, endocrine disruptors from plastics, poorly thought out medicines, fructose, etc).  The biggest threat to your health is the greed of others and your own ignorance (and the ignorance of the professionals you trust to take care of your health).

When it comes to your dreams, cling on to the wreckage of those, no matter how many times they are smashed mercilessly against the rocks.  Your whole being depends on being able to follow your dreams.  In the case of artists, that means keeping your art and creativity alive and active.  Living an unhappy life is just one more way to erode your health.

Finally, if you wake up too late, as many of us do, and finally realise what has been done to you and by whom, it is never too late to take back ground.  The battle is harder because of the ground you have ceded, but it can be done.

It is never too late to start taking better care of yourself and of those you love.  You are never too old to create.  Even when you can’t create the same way as you did in your youth, you can still create.  Look at Matisse who, in old age and ill health, turned his hand to cutting out shapes in coloured paper.  Was this art any less pleasing and beautiful than his earlier paintings?  Arguably, those works were even better.

Try your damnedest to avoid ceding ground and if you do, fight like fury to gain it back!

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

