But I’ve Got No Artistic Talent…

Whenever I hear somebody say this, it makes me feel sad.  Everybody has artistic talent and here’s the proof:  when you were a child, did you ever once stop playing because you felt you were no good at playing?  Given a crayon and a piece of paper, did you ever once stop and think “No, I am not worthy of this crayon and paper.  I shall not make a mark.”?

Of course you didn’t.  We are all born artistic and playful.  Somewhere along the way, it gets hammered out of us, either by those that fancy art is their turf and they don’t want competition, or by other people laying some kind of mean and insensitive power trip on you.

Art is not about the result.  Art is about the fun and joy of creating something – anything.  There are no rules.  You can make any art you like, any way you please, so long as it makes you happy.  It alarms me that people apply artificially high standards, which often can’t be met by anybody, and thereby cut themselves off from such an elemental and existential pleasure.

Please, even if you think you can’t draw, can’t paint and don’t have an artistic bone in your body, please, please, please set all that thinking to one side and make a mark.  Make your mark.  Make a mark that pleases you.

One mark follows another and then another and before you know it, you have art.

Let the inner child hold the crayon once again.  Smile as you mess up.  Enjoy the act of creating.  If you like, hide your art away when it’s done, but for a brief few moments, remember your childhood and honour it.

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

