Use It Or Lose It

Everything decays in time.  Even things that we don’t think of as organic, sure as not, eventually decay.  When we spend a lifetime developing our creative powers, or collecting a fine set of creative tools, we really ought to be as attentive to how we use those powers and tools as we were in developing, collecting and nurturing them.

I don’t want to introduce a note of grimness into this blog, but something has been on my mind lately.  Our ability to create using our well-honed talents can vanish into thin air at any moment, due to changes in circumstance, health, environment, age, income, you name it.  I’ve been a guitar player for some forty years, yet a small injury to the index finger on my left hand (caused by trying too hard to open a tube of acrylic paint whose cap had adhered to the tube body, due to dry paint) has left me unable to play for the past six weeks.  It focuses the mind.  I hope and believe that the injury will heal in time, but it raises the question – what if this was it?  Did I get enough done while I was able?

Next time you are tempted to take your creative abilities for granted and feel inclined to put off your next creative project for some indeterminate date in the future, just consider that your gifts are temporary.  They will ultimately be taken away from you at some point.

Delight in what you have and what you can do, while you still can.

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

