What Do You Stand For? A Challenge and a Paradox

This is something I believe.  It is not something I can prove.  But I feel it to be true all the same.

I find that so many fellow students of art and even a few professional artists that I know are so concerned with what they are expected to produce or about what will sell or appeal to the masses, that they completely smother their inner light and individuality in trying to present that confection of a façade to the world.  People seem to be so afraid to assert themselves, state what they stand for and include that essence in their work.

Rather, they want to have the right background, the right qualifications, they want to produce art that is acceptable.  They are quite content to slavishly copy another artist’s style, even sub-consciously, without really digging into the depths of their own guts to find out what it is that they are all about.  And in a few cases, having discovered that, so many fail to take that next vital step of stating their essence with pride, courage and unabashed, brazen confidence in their work.

So I believe this is a bad idea.  Don’t become another watercolourist that produces an endless series of twee brown, green and blue pictures that look like awful photographs (unless that really IS who you are, of course).  It’s a waste of everybody’s time and a dreadful waste of art materials.

I think what matters is authenticity.  People don’t just buy your work, they buy into your whole being – your philosophy, approach, mission, values, passion, drives, ideas, madness, flaws, strengths, weaknesses, vulnerabilities – the complete artist.

That means that to be a good artist, what matters most is to discover what you stand for and stand for it.  Stand for it in all you do.  Make a stand.  Stand by what you stand for.

Only then will you become an acceptable artist and produce acceptable art.

(Maybe they call it “stand oil” for a reason)

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

