Used to Be Different, Now You’re the Same

Every so often we get into a rut – an artistic rut.  Some call it writer’s block.  I feel that feeling whenever I have taken some artistic direction or other as far as I can go (or as far as I want to go).  It’s maddening because it feels like you are never going to produce anything new, original or worthwhile ever again.  This is, of course, nonsense.

What I do in those situations is fall back to the importance of play.  Playing is the best way to get over whatever is stopping you.  If I have been painting with large brushes, I switch to small, or knives, instead of brushes.  If I have been painting with bright colours, I go for muted.  If my songs are too electronic sounding, I go for a subtle sample or upload some new effect.  If I am writing lyrics, I’ll play around with the form or the rhyming scheme.  I might even try to wedge some strange word into the lyric.

So learn a new chord.  Listen to some music you would never ordinarily listen to.  When programming, look at somebody else’s code or their application.  Try a bigger or smaller canvas.  Paint the light around the subject and not the subject.  Outlaw curved lines.  Pretend you are writing in a foreign language and that it is being translated into English.  The possibilities are endless.

When you’re blocked, try something.  Try anything.  Whatever you do, don’t let it take a hold of you and cripple your creative muscles.  It’s a pernicious cancer that can stop you for months or years.  And if you still can’t break out of the grip of writer’s block, stop taking yourself so seriously.  It’s only art.  Play.  Enjoy.  Find what it was about your art that attracted you to it in the first place.

In whatever you do, you never need to be stuck.  Stuck just means you haven’t played with the infinite possibilities around you.  Let serendipity guide you.  At some level, your subconscious artist is guiding you anyway, you just don’t need to be aware of that.

Bookmark and Share

About tropicaltheartist

You can find out more about me here: https://michaeltopic.wordpress.com/. There aren’t many people that exist in that conjunction of art, design, science and engineering, but this is where I live. I am an artist, a musician, a designer, a creator, a scientist, a technologist, an innovator and an engineer and I have a genuine, deep passion for each field. Most importantly, I am able to see the connections and similarities between each field of intellectual endeavour and apply the lessons I learn in one discipline to my other disciplines. To me, they are all part of the same continuum of creativity. I write about what I know, through my blogs, in the hope that something I write will resonate with a reader and help them enjoy their own creative life more fully. I am, in summary, a highly creative individual, but with the ability to get things done efficiently. Not all of these skills are valued by the world at large, but I am who I am and this is me. The opinions stated here are my own and not necessarily the opinion or position of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

