How to do Something No One has Ever Done Before

What a question!  How do you do something no one else has ever done before?  Where do you start?  Is it even an important pursuit?  I think it is, because it cuts to the heart of originality.  Originality is, by definition, the doing of something no one has ever done before.

Firstly, learn about things that somebody, somewhere has done before and don’t do those things.  It’s essential that you reject them all, whatever you do.  They’re not for you.  Copying, following, imitating, replicating, quoting, pastiche, mimicry – you have to forsake those.  They’re no use to you.

What can you imagine that needs doing?  What are you motivated to do?  The genesis of doing something no one has ever done before is a curiosity about it and a determination to do so.  You have to care enough about doing something no one has ever done before that you are prepared to take the risk of trying and maybe failing.

That’s going to take courage and insouciance about what others think of you.  What do you care what they think anyway?  If their opinion mattered, they’d have done the thing no one has ever done before by now, wouldn’t they?  Even if they have done something no one has ever done before, it’s not the thing you’re trying to do, is it.  This one thing is your own thing.  It belongs to nobody else but you, provided you find a way to do it.

We’re all taught to be safe.  We obey.  We don’t want to fall out of line, because there are scary, dangerous, fearful consequences to that choice, aren’t there?  Well actually, there aren’t.  The fear might have been instilled in us to keep us obedient, but it’s not real.  If you try and fail, all you do is try again.  Or give up, but if you give up, you’ll never do something no one else has ever done before.  How much do you want to do something no one else has ever done before?

There is no guide.  No recipe or method exists.  If there was such a thing, then this wouldn’t be the sort of thing no one has ever done before.  A set of instructions implies that at least one person must have done this thing before, or there would be no instructions, would there?  No, you’re going to have to make the method or process up all by yourself.  You’re going to have to be imaginative, innovative and inventive.  You’re going to have to experiment, strategize, establish your own approach and tactics and follow your own instincts.  But how do you do that?!

Inspiration, a love of solving problems and persistence are required.  You are going to have to figure out what it is you don’t know, but need to know, and then find a way to know it.  You’re on your own.  There are no examples.  There might be some loose models to follow, but if this is something no one has ever done before, you’re the first.  It’s your trail and you’re blazing it.

Good luck.  You’re going to need much more than luck.  You’re going to have to draw upon your resources and think it through.  You need to be prepared for when you get a bit of luck.  You are literally creating something out of nothing, like some medieval alchemist.  You are the sage.  You are the magus.  Nobody knows what you know or is a better version of you than you are.  It’s your uniqueness that is going to see you through – your willingness to go your own way, even when there is considerably pressure to follow the herd.

Can you do it?  Of course you can.  Millions of ordinary people found ways to do something that no one has ever done before.  You can too.  You just have to have a passion for doing so.  The rest, as they say in the classics, is relatively easy.

Let me know when you finally do something no one has ever done before.  Actually, you won’t need to.  We’ll all hear about it anyway, without a doubt.  Doing something no one else has ever done before is still relatively rare and hence remarkable.  But we’re all capable of it.  We just have to unlearn all we’ve been taught and trust in our own abilities.

I hope you do.  I know you will.

About tropicaltheartist

I love colours. Not colour. Colour is an abstract concept. I love the actual colours. Concrete. Real. Tangible. Each one is a friend. Each one affects me subtly differently. Colours dance and sing together. That harmony of light inspires me, excites me, uplifts me, energises me and infuses me with joy and well being. Colours, seen in relation to each other, offer tranquillity. Bright colours are the direct route to saturated beauty. Abundant colour is abundant beauty. The act of painting is, for me, the transference of pure love. Love for the colours and what I see as my subject, through the canvas and the paint, to the viewer. I paint to surround myself with beauty and to counteract the excess ugliness in the world. Beauty is the antidote. Beauty is the solution. Painting is my newest medium to express innovation, creativity, beauty, hope and the future. I didn’t paint at all until I was in my mid forties. I didn’t draw either. Somewhere along the way I had been convinced that artistic talent was for somebody else. I had listened to people programmed by a lifetime of subtle propaganda to function in and perpetuate a capitalist society. Now I have glimpsed the truth: that art is for everybody. Art is democratic and anarchistic, in the very best senses of those words. Criticism and denigration of any artist’s work is but an artefact of commerce and hierarchy. Convincing somebody to forsake their art is nothing more than an abuse of power. Knowing this is empowering. But don’t conclude that I had no medium at all until my forties. I have always had a creative medium. It has been (and still is) music, invention, software, electronics, ideas, wood, metal, my garden, writing. In each medium, I find the colours and I use them to express my inner joy. Creating lets me exert a meaningful counter pressure to the crushing weight of conformity, convention, oppression and restrictions against freedom that sit like a dead weight on all of us. Some blithely buy into the propaganda and don’t trouble themselves with the obviously inexplicable things that belie the truth. I cannot. I am too aware. I can sense intuitively that all is not what it seems, with the world. Creating is my one way to fight back and maintain my equilibrium and peace. I choose to fight with love and beauty. And when I fight, I fight with lightness, wit, surprise, delight, some humour and without taking myself too seriously. Ultimately, the bad guys can’t win against abundant love and beauty. Painting is the latest tool in my self-appointed mission to imagine, invent, inspire, create, encourage, enlighten and edify.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How to do Something No One has Ever Done Before

  1. Zak says:

    I’ve been working on something for a long time like you say you will no

  2. malakinggala says:

    This really got me thinking. I remembered the time when I chose to enroll in a liberal course instead of a course my parents wanted me to pursue and how they would rant about why I chose this course while I could have been in the medical field with my cousins.No, thanks but science is really not my thing. Having to defend what i love, which is writing, was great.In the end, they let me have my way and are trying to accept it. :) It really was a good decision, yeah a very good decision indeed.

  3. Interesting post. I think everyone does something everyday no-one has done before. Even if one tries to do what someone has done before it will still bear your own individual signature. No-one can do what you does anyway. Unique? is it true that no one fingerprint is the same?

    • That’s a very good point. It’s almost impossible to do something that somebody else has done before, even if you copy, because everything you do will have a very subtle stamp of your own upon it. Nice angle. Thanks for commenting.

  4. Emmanuel says:

    Do sci-fi also count.i mean,if u read about something in a sci-fi work nd u want to realize it,i guess dat wil mean doing it for d first time?

Leave a Reply

